Retro Blockbusters Summer Film Series coming to Wolfville

Retro Blockbusters Summer Film Series coming to Wolfville
By Wendy Elliott

This July and August at the historic Al Whittle Theatre on Main Street in Wolfville, a new summer film series is all lined up.

The Whittle’s inaugural Retro Blockbusters Summer Film Series will bring back old memories while creating new ones for a fresh generation of cinema lovers, says manager Mary Harwell. The intent of the Retro Blockbusters Summer Film Series is to capture the fun and nostalgia of the many popular hit movies of the past. Films like: Big, The Sting, Alien, Chinatown, Goldfinger, ET: The Extraterrestrial, Jaws, and many others are scheduled, says Harwell. “The big screen really does add to the experience of viewing a great fun film.” The first film, The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert, coincides with Pride Week, but most of the films lined up are modern classics like Jaws.

Since Valley Summer Theatre wasn’t able to bring any drama to Wolfville this summer, Harwell says, the Acadia Cinema Co-operative board wanted to avoid an empty stretch of time during the busy summer months. “We want to contribute to an active and moving downtown,” she noted. “We’re also trying to appeal to individuals and families.”

The series – mostly nights with some matinees – will run between July 22 and August 19. The not-for-profit theatre co-op is going to keep the price of admission affordable at $5.

Just Us! Coffee Roasters and the Devour Food and Film Festival are the primary sponsors for the Retro Blockbusters Summer Film Series, but local businesses have also stepped up.

According to Harwell, there will be specially mixed cocktails to match some of the films, like The Goldfinger. Movie popcorn will also be available. The screenings, in the comfortable 160-seat theatre with big screen, surround sound, and air conditioning, will make for enjoyable viewing, she suggests. Wolfville’s Mudcreek Days in late July will feature a trio of free screenings as part of the series in the Whittle.

Schedule:
Sun., July 22 The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert 8 pm.
Monday, July 23 Goldfinger 8 pm.
Tues., July 24 Close Encounters of the Third Kind 8 pm.
Wed., July 25 Just Us screens Plastic Ocean 7 pm.
Thurs., July 26 Big 7 pm. Free
Sat., July 28 NFB animated shorts from 4:30-7 pm. Free
Sun., July 29 Shrek: The Musical (Broadway) 3 pm. Free
Sun., July 29 Singin’ in the Rain 8 pm.
Monday, July 30 The Good, the Bad and the Ugly 8 pm.
Tues., July 31 The Good, the Bad and the Ugly 8 pm.
Wed., Aug. 1 Julie and Julia 8 pm.
Thurs., Aug. 2 Some Like it Hot 8 pm.
Fri., Aug. 3 Mad Max: Beyond Thunderdome 8 pm.
Sun., Aug. 5 Back to the Future 2 pm.
Sun., Aug. 5 Chinatown 8 pm.
Mon., Aug 6 The Producers (1967) 8 pm.
Tues., Aug. 7 The Producers 8 pm.
Wed., Aug. 8 Sideways 8 pm.
Thurs., Aug. 9 Jaws 8 pm.
Fri., Aug. 10 Jaws 8 pm.
Sat., Aug. 11 Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2 pm.
Sun., Aug. 12 Space Jam 2 pm.
Sun., Aug. 12 The Sting 8 pm.
Mon. Aug. 13 The Sting 8 pm.
Tues. Aug. 14 Titanic 8 pm.
Wed. Aug. 15 Tortilla Soup 8 pm.
Thur. Aug. 16 Casablanca 8 pm.
Fri. Aug. 17 Alien 8 pm.
Sat. Aug. 18 ET: The Extraterrestrial 2 pm.
Sun. Aug. 19 ET: The Extraterrestrial 2 pm.
Sun. Aug. 19 The Matrix 8 pm.